FAQ

What is ELBJAZZ about?

On 5 and 6 June 2020 the ELBJAZZ will feature about 50 musical acts of all varieties of jazz and related genres presented against the unique scenery of the Hamburg harbor. Since its foundation in 2010 by Tina Heine and Nina Sauer, thousands of guests have been thrilled by the festival where the unmistakable maritime flair of the Hanseatic city of Hamburg meets musical diversity.

On two days, well-known artists and newcomers associated with jazz directly or in a wider sense will dominate the scene. The open-air and indoor stages are located at unique and unusual places in the Hamburg harbor. In 2017, a new venue was added, namely the recently opened Elbphilharmonie.

When will the ELBJAZZ take place?

The dates for the next ELBJAZZ are 5 and 6 June 2020.

Where does the ELBJAZZ take place?

ELBJAZZ's open-air and indoor stages are located at the Blohm+Voss shipyard, the Elbphilharmonie (the Grand Hall and the Recital Hall), on the MS Stubnitz, at the Hauptkirche St. Katharinen, and on the Platz der Deutschen Einheit (HfMT Young Talents).

 

Is there a printed programme?

The printed programme for ELBJAZZ 2020 is available in selected cafés, bars, shopping centres, and cultural institutions in and around Hamburg. Those attending ELBJAZZ may also pick up a copy free of charge from Karsten Jahnke Konzertdirektion prior to the start of the festival.

 

Is there a mobile app for ELBJAZZ 2020?

Yes, the mobile app for ELBJAZZ 2020 is available free of charge from the App Store (iOS) and from the Google Play Store (Android).

 

Where can I buy tickets?

Tickets can be purchased online at www.elbjazz.de and via the ticket hotline+ 49 (0) 40 853 88 853 (Monday to Friday 09.00 to 18.30). We recommend online purchase at the ELBJAZZ ticket shop. In addition, tickets (if available) can be purchased at the festival at the box office.

How do I reach the ticket hotline?

The ticket hotline can be reached at the following telephone number + 49 (0) 40 853 88 853 (Monday to Friday 9.00 am to 6.30 pm).

How much do tickets cost?

An early bird 2-day ticket (5 + 6 June 2020) costs €89, a 2-day ticket (5 + 6 June 2020) costs €109, a 1-day ticket for Friday (5 June 2020) costs €59. And a 1-day ticket for Saturday (6 June 2020) costs €74. All ticket prices include fees.

How much do tickets cost at the box office?

A 2-day ticket (5 + 6 June 2020) costs €110 at the box office, a 1-day ticket for Friday (5 June 2020) costs €65 at the box office. And a 1-day ticket for Saturday (6 June 2020) costs €80 at the box office. All ticket prices include fees.

How do I obtain my ELBJAZZ ticket?

When you successfully complete the ticket purchase in the ELBJAZZ ticket shop, a booking confirmation is sent by email to the email address entered by the person making the purchase. The ELBJAZZ ticket is included as a PDF attachment to this booking confirmation and must be exchanged for a wristband at the ticket desk at the festival.

Where can I find my booking number?

Ticketholders who purchased their ELBJAZZ tickets before 13 November 2019 have the option, until 13 December 2019, of making a subsequent reservation for a concert in the Elbphilharmonie. The booking number needed to do so can be found in the booking confirmation the ticket purchaser received by email.

Are there tickets for individual concerts?

We offer 1- and 2-day tickets. There will be no tickets for individual concerts.

What happens to my data?

We take the legal provisions on data protection very seriously. For further information please refer to our privacy policy.

Can I attend all the concerts of the ELBJAZZ?

As some concerts will be taking place at the same time, it is not possible to attend all of them. For security reasons, admission to some venues will be restricted to a limited number of guests. We therefore recommend selecting your favourite concerts from the programme in advance and arriving at the venue early. If the capacity of a venue is exceeded, access cannot be permitted. In that case access is only granted, when guests leave the venue and make room for further guests.

Please note: To attend an Elbphilharmonie concert, reservations must be made in advance.

Who can attend a concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall?

The first 11,000 ELBJAZZ ticket holders are entitled to attend one of the ELBJAZZ concerts in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall. This requires early registration via our reservation system.

I've reserved a concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall - what's the next step?

To gain admission to a pre-reserved concert in the Elbphilharmonie, the ELBJAZZ ticket and the voucher you have received for the selected concert in the Elbphilharmonie must be exchanged for a seat ticket at the ticket desk on the festival site. This can then be used to gain admission to the Elbphilharmonie.

Where can I find the voucher for my reserved concert in the Elbphilharmonie?

Ticketholders who purchased their ELBJAZZ tickets before 13 November 2019 will have received their vouchers by email when they later successfully completed a reservation for a concert in the Elbphilharmonie after 13 November 2019. It is included as a PDF attachment to the reservation confirmation and must be brought to the festival along with the ELBJAZZ ticket.

Ticketholders who purchased their ELBJAZZ tickets after 13 November 2019 will also have received their vouchers by email when they successfully booked their ELBJAZZ ticket incl. reservation for a concert in the Elbphilharmonie. The ELBJAZZ ticket and voucher are included as separate PDF attachments to the booking confirmation and must both be brought to the festival.

How will seat allocation for concerts in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall be determined?

Seat allocation for concerts in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall will be determined on the day of the concert at the ticket desk. It will not be possible to reserve specific seats in advance. No exceptions. Seats will be allocated randomly and seat assignments will be final.

Can I attend more than one concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall?

No, unfortunately not. The rule is one concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall per ticket holder. Once you have successfully reserved your Grand Hall concert, your admission to the concert is guaranteed.

If I purchase a 2-day ticket, can I attend two concerts in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall?

No. Purchasers of 2-day tickets (just like purchasers of 1-day tickets) have the opportunity to register for only one ELBJAZZ concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall. They may choose between attending a concert on Thursday, Friday or Saturday provided tickets for concerts on the desired day are still available.

Can I choose which concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall I would like to attend?

Yes, the artists performing at the Elbphilharmonie (incl. time of their performance) will be announced on activation of the reservation system. After successful registration, admission to the selected concert is guaranteed.

OK, so I can attend one concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall – which concerts can I choose from with my ticket type?

ELBJAZZ ticket holders who have a 1-day ticket for Friday can choose from three concerts on Friday.

ELBJAZZ ticket holders who have a 1-day ticket for Saturday can choose from three concerts on Saturday.

ELBJAZZ ticket holders who have a 2-day ticket will also only be able to reserve one concert – they will be able to choose between attending a concert in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall on Friday or on Saturday (subject to availability).

When does the reservation process for concerts in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall begin?

All ELBJAZZ ticket purchasers who make their purchase before 13 November 2019 and who are among the first 11,000 ticketholders will automatically receive a reservation link via email on 13 November, which they can use tomake the reservation for all the tickets of one booking in one step. It Is only possible to make this reservation from 13 November to 13 December 2019.

Interested parties who have not purchased an ELBJAZZ ticket by 12 November 2019 can, from 13 November 2019, make reservations for a concert in the Elbphilharmonie directly as part of the booking process as they purchase their ELBJAZZ ticket (subject to availability).

Can I get tickets for concerts in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand Hall at the box office?

No, tickets for concerts in the Elbphilharmonie's Grand hall will probably not be available at the box office.

Does my child need her/his own ticket?

For children below the age of 14 years admission to the ELBJAZZ festival is free. Upon request of security personnel, verification of age must be produced before entering the festival area. However, for concerts at the Elbphilharmonie, festival tickets must also be purchased for children.

Why are concerts at the Elbphilharmonie not free for children?

Elbphilharmonie concerts require prior reservation. As this is only possible by means of a personalised access link issued to ticket holders, children without tickets cannot be admitted.

What rules apply to infants?

Children aged 0 years and above may enter the festival area if accompanied by their parents and wearing ear protection.

What rules apply to minors?

Events are subject to legal provisions for the protection of minors. As a rule, pupil ID-cards, written approval issued by parents or legal guardians are not accepted. 

5 Dance Events JuSchG (Protection of Young Persons Act):

Attendance of children and young people below the age of 16 at public dance events is not permissible unless accompanied by a legal guardian; attendance of adolescents above the age of 16 is permissible up to midnight.

What’s the best way to get to the festival?

We recommend using public transport. Your festival ticket entitles you to travel to and from the festival on the day/days your ticket is valid using the HVV public transport network (ticket includes one round trip, including express bus, valid until the end of HVV operating hours on the day/days of your ELBJAZZ ticket's validity).

I’ve purchased my ticket – what do I need to do when I get to the festival site?

If you purchased your ticket in advance, you must exchange your ticket for a festival wristband at the ticket desk. Wristbands may be picked up any time during ticket desk opening hours. You must be wristbanded in person at the ticket desk by an ELBJAZZ staff member - you may not pick up wristbands for other people. Please allow enough time for wristband pick-up as there may be queues at the ticket counters at certain high-traffic times.

Can I use my ELBJAZZ ticket to travel by public transport?

Your festival ticket entitles you to travel to and from the festival on the day/days your ticket is valid (5 June and/or 6 June 2020) using the HVV public transport network (ticket includes one round trip, including express bus, valid until the end of HVV operating hours on the day/days of your ELBJAZZ ticket's validity).

Where can I park my car?

ELBJAZZ 2020 does not have its own parking facilities. We recommend using public transport. If you are traveling to the festival by car, we recommend that you research public parking facilities in the vicinity of the venues ahead of time.

What can I bring along to the festival area?

The following items may be brought to the festival site:

- One 0.5-litre plastic beverage bottle per person
- Small snacks
- Ear protection for children
- Umbrellas
- Mobile-phone cameras, compact cameras
- Camping stools (no folding chairs!)

The following items may not be brought to the festival site:

- Glass bottles
- Professional camera equipment
- Megaphones

Confiscated items and lost articles may be picked up when leaving the festival site. Information regarding pick-up points and times will be available on this website once the 2020 venues have been announced.

What catering facilities are provided?

In all festival centres there will be a selection of different food and beverage stands. Moreover, small snacks can be taken to the festival area.

Where do I go if I have questions during the festival?

Information regarding all aspects of ELBJAZZ 2020 can be found on site at the festival info desks.

Faq

Was ist das ELBJAZZ?

Am 5. + 6. Juni 2020 zeigt das ELBJAZZ rund 50 Programmpunkte zu allen Spielarten des Jazz und angrenzenden Genres vor der einmaligen Kulisse des Hamburger Hafens. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2010 durch Tina Heine und Nina Sauer lassen sich jährlich tausende Besucher von dem Festival begeistern, bei dem das unverwechselbare maritime Flair der Hansestadt auf musikalische Vielfalt trifft.

An zwei Tagen treten bekannte Künstler und Newcomer auf, die im direkten, aber auch erweiterten Sinne mit Jazz in Verbindung stehen. Die Open Air- und Indoor-Bühnen befinden sich an einmaligen und ungewöhnlichen Orten im Hamburger Hafen. Seit 2017 ist auch die Elbphilharmonie Spielort des ELBJAZZ.

Wann findet das ELBJAZZ statt?

Das nächste ELBJAZZ findet am 5. + 6. Juni 2020 statt.

Wo findet das ELBJAZZ statt?

Die Open Air- und Indoor-Bühnen des ELBJAZZ befinden sich auf dem Werftgelände von Blohm+Voss, in der Elbphilharmonie (Großer und Kleiner Saal), auf der MS Stubnitz und in der Hauptkirche St. Katharien und auf dem Platz der Deutschen Einheit (HfMT Young Talents).

Gibt es ein Programmheft?

Das Programmheft für das ELBJAZZ 2020 ist in den Kulturfenstern ausgewählter Cafés, Bars, Einkaufszentren und Kultureinrichtungen in Hamburg und Umgebung erhältlich. Zudem besteht für Besucher*innen des ELBJAZZ die Möglichkeit, sich bereits vor Festivalbeginn ein persönliches Exemplar kostenlos bei der Karsten Jahnke Konzertdirektion abzuholen

 

Gibt es eine Mobile App für das ELBJAZZ 2020?

Ja, die Mobile App für das ELBJAZZ 2020 ist kostenfrei im App Store (iOS) und im Google Play Store (Android) erhältlich.

 

Wo kann ich Tickets kaufen?

Tickets können online unter www.elbjazz.de und über die Tickethotline + 49 (0) 40 853 88 853 (Montag bis Freitag 10.00 bis 18.00 Uhr) gekauft werden. Wir empfehlen den Onlinekauf über den ELBJAZZ Ticketshop. Zudem können Tickets während des Festivals an der Abendkasse gekauft werden (Verfügbarkeit vorausgesetzt).

Wie erreiche ich die Tickethotline?

Die Tickethotline kann unter der folgenden Telefonnummer erreicht werden: + 49 (0) 40 853 88 853 (Montag bis Freitag 10.00 bis 18.00 Uhr)

Wie viel kostet ein Ticket?

Ein 2-Tagesticket (5. Juni + 6. Juni 2020) kostet 109,00€. Das 1-Tagesticket Freitag (31. Mai 2020) kostet 59,00€, das 1-Tagesticket Samstag (1. Juni 2020) 74,00€ (alle Ticketpreise inkl. Gebühren).

Gibt es Rabatte? Habe ich Anspruch auf Ermäßigung?

Schüler*innen, Studierende und Zivildienstleistende erhalten eine Ermäßigung unter Vorlage eines gültigen Ausweises an der Tageskasse, nicht jedoch im Vorverkauf.

Gibt es Tickets für einzelne Veranstaltungen?

Es gibt 1- und 2-Tagestickets. Für einzelne Konzerte wird es keine Tickets geben.

Was passiert mit meinen Daten?

Wir nehmen die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen zum Datenschutz sehr ernst. Für weitere Informationen schauen Sie bitte auf unsere Datenschutzerklärung.

Kann ich an allen Konzerten des ELBJAZZ teilnehmen?

Da manche Konzerte zur selben Zeit stattfinden, ist die Teilnahme an allen Konzerten nicht möglich. Aus Sicherheitsgründen ist zudem der Einlass an einigen Spielstätten begrenzt. Daher empfehlen wir, die favorisierten Konzerte bereits im Voraus im Programmheft herauszusuchen und rechtzeitig an der Spielstätte zu sein. Wenn eine Spielstätte überfüllt ist, besteht kein Anspruch auf Einlass. Zutritt gibt es erst dann wieder, wenn Gäste die Spielstätte verlassen haben und so neuer Platz entstanden ist.

Bitte beachten: Um ein Konzert in der Elbphilharmonie zu besuchen, muss im Voraus eine Reservierung vorgenommen werden.

Wer kann zu einem Konzert im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie gehen?

Die ersten 11.000 ELBJAZZ-Ticketinhaber haben die Möglichkeit, einmalig ein Konzert während des ELBJAZZ im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie zu besuchen. Voraussetzung hierfür ist die rechtzeitige Registrierung per Reservierungssystem.

Wie ist das weitere Vorgehen nach der Reservierung eines Konzertes im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie?

Für den Einlass zu einem vorab reservierten Konzert in der Elbphilharmonie muss das ELBJAZZ-Ticket und der erhaltene Voucher für das ausgewählte Konzert in der Elbphilharmonie am Ticketdesk auf dem Festivalgelände gegen eine Sitzplatzkarte getauscht werden. Mit dieser kann daraufhin der Eintritt in die Elbphilharmonie erfolgen.

Wie erfolgt die Sitzplatzzuweisung für die Konzerte im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie?

Die Sitzplatzzuweisung für den Konzertbesuch in der Elbphilharmonie erfolgt am Veranstaltungstag am Ticketdesk. Es ist ausnahmslos keine Vorabreservierung von bestimmten Plätzen möglich. Die Zuweisung der Plätze erfolgt nach dem Zufallsprinzip und ist nicht änderbar.

Kann ich auch mehrere Konzerte im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie besuchen?

Nein, leider nicht. Pro Ticketinhaber*in kann genau ein Konzert im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie besucht werden. Nach erfolgreicher Reservierung ist der Einlass für die*den Ticketinhaber*in gesichert.

Wenn ich ein 2-Tagesticket kaufe, kann ich dann auch zweimal ein Konzert im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie besuchen?

2-Tagesticketkäufer*innen haben (ebenso wie 1-Tagesticketkäufer*innen) die Möglichkeit, sich genau einmal für ein Konzert im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie zu registrieren. Sie haben dabei die freie Wahl, an welchem Tag sie ein Konzert in der Elbphilharmonie besuchen möchten (Verfügbarkeit vorausgesetzt).

Kann ich mir aussuchen, zu welchem Konzert im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie ich gehen möchte?

Ja, die Künstler*innen, die in der Elbphilharmonie auftreten, werden, einschließlich Auftrittszeit, gleichzeitig mit der Freischaltung des Reservierungssystems, bekannt gegeben. Nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung ist der Einlass für die*den Ticketinhaber*in gesichert.

Aus welchen Konzerten im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie kann ich mit meiner Ticketvariante wählen?

Inhaber*innen eines 1-Tagestickets für Freitag können zwischen drei Konzerten am Freitag wählen.

Inhaber*innen eines 1-Tagestickets für Samstag können zwischen drei Konzerten am Samstag wählen.

Inhaber*innen eines 2-Tagestickets haben ebenfalls nur einen Zugang und somit die einmal auszuübende Wahl zwischen einem Konzertbesuch im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie am Freitag oder Samstag (Verfügbarkeit vorausgesetzt).

Ab wann kann ich die Reservierung für ein Konzert im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie vornehmen?

Alle ELBJAZZ-Ticketkäufer*innen, die ihren Kauf vor dem 13. November 2019 vornehmen und zu den ersten 11.000 Ticketinhaber*innen gehören, erhalten am 13. November automatisch einen Reservierungslink via E-Mail, mit dem in einem Schritt die Reservierung für alle Tickets einer Buchung vorgenommen werden kann. Diese Reservierung ist nur vom 13. November bis zum 13. Dezember 2019 möglich.

Interessierte, die bis zum 12. November 2019 kein ELBJAZZ-Ticket erstanden haben, können ab dem 13. November 2019 direkt im Buchungsprozess bei Kauf eines ELBJAZZ-Tickets die Reservierung eines Konzertes in der Elbphilharmonie vornehmen (Verfügbarkeit vorausgesetzt).

Gibt es eine Abendkasse für Konzerte im Großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie?

Nein, für Konzerte in der Elbphilharmonie wird es voraussichtlich keine Abendkasse geben.

Benötigt mein Kind ein eigenes Ticket?

Kinder haben bis zur Vollendung des 14. Lebensjahres freien Eintritt beim ELBJAZZ. Der Altersnachweis muss dafür am Einlass des Festivalgeländes auf Verlangen des Ordnungsdienstes vorgelegt werden können. Um ein Konzert in der Elbphilharmonie zu besuchen, ist allerdings auch für Kinder der Erwerb eines Kauftickets notwendig.

Warum gilt der freie Eintritt für Kinder nicht für Konzerte in der Elbphilharmonie?

Um ein Konzert in der Elbphilharmonie zu besuchen, muss im Voraus eine Reservierung vorgenommen werden. Da dies nur mittels eines personalisierten Zugangslinks möglich ist, der an Ticketkäufer*innen ausgegeben wird, ist die Berücksichtigung von Kindern ohne Kaufticket hier leider nicht möglich.

Welche Regelungen gelten für Kleinkinder?

Kinder ab 0 Jahren dürfen mit Gehörschutz in Begleitung der Eltern auf das Festivalgelände.

Welche Regelungen gelten für Minderjährige?

Bei der Veranstaltung gelten die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen des Jugendschutzes. Schülerausweise, schriftliche Erlaubnisse eines Erziehungsberechtigten o.Ä. werden in der Regel nicht akzeptiert.

5 Tanzveranstaltungen JuSchG:

Die Anwesenheit bei öffentlichen Tanzveranstaltungen ohne Begleitung einer personensorgeberechtigten oder erziehungsbeauftragten Person darf Kindern und Jugendlichen unter 16 Jahren nicht und Jugendlichen ab 16 Jahren längstens bis 24 Uhr gestattet werden.

Wie komme ich zum Festivalgelände?

Wir empfehlen die Nutzung öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel. Das Festivalticket berechtigt am Tag bzw. an den Tagen seiner Gültigkeit im HVV-Gesamtbereich zur Fahrt zum Veranstaltungsort und zurück (eine Hin- und Rückfahrt inkl. Schnellbus, gültig bis Betriebsschluss des Gültigkeitstages).

Was ist nach dem Ticketkauf der erste Schritt auf dem Festivalgelände?

Vorab gekaufte Tickets müssen am Ticketdesk persönlich gegen ein Festivalarmband getauscht werden. Dies ist jederzeit zu den Öffnungszeiten der Ticketdesks möglich. Die Festivalarmbänder werden direkt von unseren Mitarbeiter*innen vor Ort umgelegt und werden nicht für andere Personen mitgegeben. Zu bestimmten Zeiten ist mit einem erhöhten Aufkommen an den Ticketdesks zu rechnen, daher bitte genug Zeit einplanen.

Gilt mein Ticket für Bus und Bahn?

Das Festivalticket berechtigt am Tag bzw. an den Tagen der Gültigkeit des Festivaltickets (5. Juni und/oder 6. Juni 2020) zur Fahrt zum Veranstaltungsort und zurück im HVV-Gesamtbereich (eine Hin- und Rückfahrt inkl. Schnellbus, gültig bis Betriebsschluss des Gültigkeitstages).

Wo kann ich mein Auto parken?

Das ELBJAZZ 2020 verfügt über keine eigenen Parkplätze. Wir empfehlen die Nutzung öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel. Bei Anfahrt mit dem Auto empfehlen wir, sich bereits im Vorfeld über öffentliche Parkmöglichkeiten nahe der Spielorte zu informieren.

Was darf ich auf das Festivalgelände mitnehmen?

Auf dem Festivalgelände erlaubt sind:

- eine 0,5l PET-Flasche Getränk pro Person
- kleinere Speisen
- Gehörschutz für Kinder
- Regenschirme
- Handykameras, Kompaktkameras
- Campinghocker (keine Klappstühle!)

Nicht auf dem Festivalgelände erlaubt sind:

- Glasflaschen
- Professionelles Kameraequipment
- Megaphone

Beschlagnahmte Gegenstände und Fundsachen können beim Verlassen des Festivals abgeholt werden. Ein Hinweis zu den Abholstellen und –zeiten erfolgt mit Veröffentlichung der Spielstätten 2020 auf dieser Website.

Was für Verpflegungsmöglichkeiten gibt es vor Ort?

In allen Festivalzentren wird es eine Auswahl unterschiedlichster Stände geben, die Speisen und Getränke anbieten. Zudem ist die Mitnahme kleinerer Speisen auf das Festivalgelände gestattet.

An wen wende ich mich bei Fragen während des Festivals?

Vor Ort gibt es alle Informationen rund um das ELBJAZZ 2020 an den Infodesks.